That is how the light gets in….

It is still quite dark in the mornings now when I get up at 4:30am. Riley and I made our way to the beach this morning with the remnants of storm clouds hanging overhead the light was quite amazing.

ls0

As I looked out the words Leonard Cohen’s Anthem came to mind:

The birds they sang
At the break of day
Start again

I heard them say
Don’t dwell on what
Has passed away
Or what is yet to be

Ah the wars they will
Be fought again

The holy dove
She will be caught again
Bought and sold
And bought again
The dove is never free

Ring the bells that still can ring
Forget your perfect offering

There is a crack, a crack in everything
That’s how the light gets in

ls4

We asked for signs
The signs were sent:
The birth betrayed
The marriage spent
Yeah the widowhood
Of every government
Signs for all to see

I can’t run no more
With that lawless crowd
While the killers in high places
Say their prayers out loud

But they’ve summoned up, they’ve summoned up
A thundercloud
And they’re going to hear from me

Ring the bells that still can ring
Forget your perfect offering
There is a crack, a crack in everything
That’s how the light gets in

ls3

You can add up the parts
But you won’t have the sum
You can strike up the march
There is no drum
Every heart, every heart
To love will come
But like a refugee

Ring the bells that still can ring
Forget your perfect offering
There is a crack, a crack in everything
That’s how the light gets in

ls2

Ring the bells that still can ring
Forget your perfect offering
There is a crack, a crack in everything
That’s how the light gets in
That’s how the light gets in
That’s how the light gets in

ls1

I am humbled and inspired by these words that move me each and every time that I hear and feel them. How true it is of life, ‘forget your perfect offering, there is a crack in everything, that is how the light gets in.’

I had the privilege of seeing Leonard Cohen live at an outdoor concert in the company of one of my most treasured friends. It was an evening of memories, music and comradeship with all the other people in that space, in that moment, all sharing the amazing energy of this old man of music. His energy and enthusiasm, and his honesty and humility drew us into the portal of his world for the evening.

As we emerged back out into the world as we knew it the music stayed with us. For some reason these particular words revisit me often. I feel them deep in my being.  These lyrics can mean many things to many people, for me I have memories and experiences that I relate to each verse, sentence and note. I am grateful for those who share their talents with us that we may find our own meaning in their creations.

On this beautiful day as I consider the choices for the next phase of my life’s journey I wish you all rays of light streaming in through the cracks in your life. Let it warm and comfort your heart and brighten your day. Allow the light to illuminate what lies before you and move forward on your path.

Love and light Ali xxx

Leave a Reply

